Toledo football players add to watch list count

July 30th – The watchlist season is still in full swing and the Toledo Rockets are part of it.

Punter Bailey Flint was included in the watchlists of the Ray Guy Award and the Wuerffel Trophy.

The Ray Guy Award goes to the best player in the country, while the Wuerffel Trophy is given to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievements.

Flint, who was listed for both awards last season, is entering his fifth season as Toledo’s starting player. His best year was 2019, when he averaged 47.3 yards per punt until injury at the end of the season.

The Australian was active in the community while at UT and attended Victory Day, which gives students with special needs the opportunity to spend an afternoon with the Rockets; the program “Feed my Starving Children”; Nobody Eats Alone program at Longfellow Elementary School; Afternoon program at the Central Trail Elementary; REACH Academy reading programs; Dr. Seuss Day at Burroughs Elementary; Spelling bees and science fairs at Rosa Parks Elementary; Toledo Boys and Girls Club; WTOL holiday toy drive; free school lunch program during recent school closings; “Welcome Back to School” day at the Summit Academy; the pantry of St. Francis of Tejas; and the Fueling Tomorrows recruitment program at UT.

Flint also volunteers his time punting lessons for local high school players.

He completed his bachelor’s degree in media communication and theater and is currently completing a master’s degree in liberal studies with a focus on theater.

Senior Center Bryce Harris was added to the Outland Trophy watch list for the third year in a row. The Outland is awarded to the nation’s best interior lineman.

Harris, who is also on the Rimington Trophy watch list as the nation’s best center, was first-team All-MAC in 2020 and second-team All-MAC in 2018. He missed the 2019 season due to an injury.

Junior defensive lineman Desjuan Johnson was added to the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which is awarded to the best defensive player in college football. Only four MAC players made the list.

Johnson had 27 tackles, including eight for loss and three sacks in the 2020 shortened season, winning the second-team All-MAC award.

Comments are closed.